Home / Sports / BWF names Viktor Axelsen and Tai Tzu Ying the badminton players to watch in 2018

BWF names Viktor Axelsen and Tai Tzu Ying the badminton players to watch in 2018

In recognition of their outstanding performances this season, Viktor Axelsen, Olympic champion, and Tai Tzu Ying (Tokyo Olympics silver medallist) were named Badminton World Federation’s (BWF), Male and Female Player Of The Year.

224850 viktor tai

Denmark’s Axelson received a special award for his remarkable run, which began at the Barcelona Spain Masters in February 2020. He made 10 finals and won seven of the 11 individual tournaments.

Tai won the All England 2020. He then showed a lot of form at the three tournament Asian Leg in January 2021. He made all three finals and clinched the BWF World Tour Finals 2020. Xinhua reports. In the Tokyo 2020 Olympics finals, the Chinese Taipei player was defeated by Chen Yufei in an exciting match.

The period of consideration for the BWF Player of the year awards was November 2019 to 31 October 2021 due to the disruptions to the sport’s tournaments over the past two years by COVID-19.

Olympic champions Lee Yang/Wang Chi Lin of Chinese Taipei were named Most Improved Player and Apriyani Rahayu, from Indonesia, were named Pair of the year.

Chinese shuttler Qu Zimo was awarded Male Para Badminton Players of the Year. Leani Ratri OKtila, from Indonesia, won Female Para Badminton Players of the Year. The Para Badminton Pair of the year award was presented to France’s Lucas Mazur and Faustine Noel.

Check Also


Sania Mirza reveals retirement plans, says 2022 season will be her last

India’s first women’s tennis superstar, Sania Mirza on Wednesday announced her retirement plans, confirming that ...