Faf du Plessis and Tahir not included in SA Squad

South Africa has not selected the experienced trio Faf du Plessis and Imran Tahir for the men’s T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Victor Mptisang was the convenor for selectors and announced the squad headed by Temba Bavuma during a live broadcast on television on Thursday.

South Africa’s captain Faf du Plessis (L) is congratulated by South Africa’s Imran Tahir after making the catch to dismiss Sri Lanka’s Avishka Fernando for 30 during the 2019 Cricket World Cup group stage match between Sri Lanka and South Africa at the Riverside Ground, in Chester-le-Street, northeast England, on June 28, 2019. (Photo by Lindsey PARNABY / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE (Photo credit should read LINDSEY PARNABY/AFP via Getty Images)

Du Plessis, 37, retired from Test cricket in February 2019. He had previously mentioned the tournament as one of his goals. Du Plessis has not played white-ball cricket for South Africa since December 2020. He was also not part of South Africa’s series against Pakistan West Indies, Ireland, and Sri Lanka.

“Faf has a great record. Mptisang said that we need to be consistent with our selections at the moment and that this is the group we have chosen.

Tahir, who had retired from ODIs following the 2019 Cricket World Cup, was also available for T20Is. He has been left out. Morris, the pace-bowling all-rounder, was last seen for South Africa in March 2019. All three of them had played in franchise leagues all over the world.

Temba Bavuma (SA’s white-ball team Captain) was forced to withdraw from the Sri Lanka tour due to a thumb fracture. He is expected to be able to return to the T20 World Cup as a captain. Bavuma was examined under the knife on Sunday. He is expected to be fully recovered before the tournament starts. He will be leading a team of 15 players, which includes three spinners at the front: Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj.

For South Africa, Maharaj has played 36 Tests as well as 14 ODIs. He has not been capped in the shortest format international cricket. However, Maharaj has played 104 T20s and took 83 wickets at an economy pace of 6.62.

“It’s the Subcontinent, and with the IPL played before the tournament began, we know that the wickets will be very spiny. The balance of the team is important. We have no better time to win the trophy and unite the country in a way only sport can.

Mptisang said that South Africans should rally behind the team and cheer them on all the way to victory.

All the players from the 15 and travelling reserves will play in the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, which starts Friday. Lungi Ngidi is not allowed to participate. Before the second leg of IPL 2021, the pacer left Dubai for Chennai Super Kings to join him.

South Africa will begin their T20 World Cup campaign against Australia in Abu Dhabi on October 23. The tournament’s super 12 stage will be opened by the first match between the Proteas of Group 1. The group also includes 2010 winners England and West Indies, the defending champions, as well as two qualifiers from round 1.

Squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Keshav Maharaj, Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi and Rassie van der Dussen Reserves: George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo and Lizaad Williams