HomeTop NewsMessages of strangers will not come on Instagram, this one setting will...

Messages of strangers will not come on Instagram, this one setting will have to be enabled

Sometimes messages from unknown people come on Instagram, which can be objectionable. Learn here how to stop such messages from coming, by which setting you can block messages from such people.

Messages from strangers can bother you every day on Instagram, but can you stop these messages? Since its launch in 2010, Instagram has undergone major changes to protect the platform’s users from harassment and other potential problems caused by social media. One of the major changes made recently has been the age checking option for new Instagram users, while the other option has been a long-standing request to restrict strangers. Let’s see how to use the latter.

Deal with user unknown message requests:

The message blocking feature was introduced on Instagram to prevent unknown people from sending messages to other users. This problem has existed for a long time, as strangers who follow often send abusive messages or react to their stories to harass users. Messages from strangers appear in the Request messages section of the Instagram app.

Facility to stop harassment through DM:

Users often ignore message requests, sometimes opening a section and posting abusive or disturbing comments can be irritating. To avoid this, you can enable an option in which only the people you follow will be able to message you directly or react to your story. This immediately blocks others from sending any messages.

It also protects against unwanted group message threads:

Instagram explained the benefits of the feature, saying, “People who enable this setting will no longer receive messages, group message requests, or story replies from people they haven’t followed.”

How can you use this feature?

This feature works with a new message control option that appears in the settings of the Instagram app. To access it, you need to go to Settings > Privacy > Messages and select the option ‘Only people you follow’ under the head ‘Allow new message requests’. Then the people who do not follow you will know that your messages are not being received by the front.

Disclaimer: This story is auto-aggregated by a computer program and has not been created or edited by Prachand.in. Publisher: ABP News

RELATED ARTICLES

Most Popular

Recent Comments

");pageTracker._trackPageview();