IPL 2021: Rajasthan Royals attempt to change batters, but are stopped by umpires

The RR management, which included Kumar Sangakkara and was involved in the crucial match between Kolkata Knight Riders & Rajasthan Royals, attempted to deceive their opposition by changing their batters. However, the on-field umpires requested them to stick with the original decision.

After Sanju Samson had been caught at short mid-wicket by Shivam Mavi, the incident occurred in the second innings. Samson returned to the dugout and cameras captured Shivam Dube, an all-rounder, walking onto the field of play.

Kumar Sangakkara, the RR coach and MCC President, was a bit surprised to see Anuj Rawat sitting in the dugout a few rows behind him.

Dube had already crossed over the boundary rope so it was impossible to make the swap. Rajasthan, the umpires who saw the move, told Dube to keep going. Dube walked out again to bat, and Rawat returned to the dugout as instructed by the umpires.

MCC laws state that a batsman’s innings counts as having been started when he steps onto the field.

“The call of Play shall determine the start of an innings for the first two batters and any new batter after the resumption. Any other time, a batter’s game shall be considered to have begun when the batter steps onto the field.

Rawat didn’t wait too long to be out as Liam Livingstone pulled off a draw on Lockie Ferguson. Rawat was only able to stay for four overs before Ferguson took him out plumb lbw. He beat Rawat for pace in the fourth over.

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), who ran riot with their ball, defeated Rajasthan Royals by 86 runs on Thursday in match 54 of Indian 2021 Sharjah. Kolkata almost made it to the playoffs after a huge win against Rajasthan.