Sameer Sharma will be the new Chief Secretary for Andhra Pradesh

Sameer Sharma, an IAS officer from 1985, was appointed the new chief secretary of Andhra Pradesh.

Sharma will succeed Aditya NATH Das, who retires from service at the age of superannuation (September 30).

The general administration department issued a government order on Friday naming Sharma Chief Secretary.

Sharma currently serves as the Special Chief Secretary to the government for planning, resource mobilization.

Sharma is vice-chairperson and member secretary of the Institute of Leadership, Excellence and Governance. He was born in Uttar Pradesh on November 15, 1961. He was a 1985 batch IAS officer and held various positions in the governments of Andhra Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, and the Government of India.

He was the Municipal Commissioner of Vijayawada and Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC), Collector of East Godavari District, Joint Secretary in Ministry of Urban Development (GoI), and Secretary (information technology and finance), Andhra Pradesh.

Das, who assumed the role of Chief Secretary on December 31, 2020 was to retire on June 30, when he reaches the age for superannuation. At the request of Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohanreddy requested that the Centre extend his tenure for three months.